Skip to main content

How to score top points on your Australian visa application

By October 22, 2018November 23rd, 2023South Africans planning to emigrate

How to score top points on your Australian visa application

October 22, 2018


Australian visas are highly prized, as the country is a favourite destination with expats from all over the world. As a result, the demand for Australian visas are high and to ensure that only expats that will add value to the Australian society are allowed to enter into Australia, a points system is in place.

Australian visa application tips

To help you achieve maximum points on your application, here are some important tips

You need a minimum of 60 points

In order to apply for a visa, you need to achieve at least 60 points to gain a visa under the General Skilled Migration program. The points are awarded if you meet the following criteria:

  1. Nominated occupation

Not every occupation is awarded points. You must nominate an occupation that falls on Australia’s skilled occupation list or on the Consolidated Sponsored Occupations List, depending on which visa you are applying for.

  1. Age

You are scored according to your age at the time of your application. If you are aged between 25 and 32 you gain the most points and if you are aged 45 or over – you get no points!

  1. English Language Proficiency

Most skilled applicants are required to take an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test. If you are from a native English speaking country and have been awarded a tertiary degree (equivalent to an Australian Bachelor’s degree or higher) from a University where English is the main language, you may not need to take the English language proficiency test. If however, you want to claim maximum points (20) for superior English language skills you will need to take the IELTS test.

  1. Skilled employment experience

If you have employment experience in a skilled occupation from a nominated occupation on Australia’s Skilled Occupation List or an occupation that is closely related, you will earn points. The maximum total points awarded to skilled employment are 20 points.

  1. Educational Qualifications

Points are only awarded to your highest qualification. For example, if you have a Doctorate and a Bachelor’s degree, you will only be awarded points for your doctorate. Any qualification that receives points must be related to your nominated occupation and must be recognised as comparable to an Australian qualification. The maximum points you can attain are 20 for a Doctorate.

  1. Australian Qualifications

If you have completed an Australian qualification or have a qualification from an Australian educational institution while you are living in Australia, you will receive an extra 5 points, but the course of study must be at least two years in length.

  1. Regional study

You can also earn another 5 points if you met your two-year study requirement while living and studying in a regional Australia/low population growth metropolitan area in Australia.

  1. Community language skills

If you have translator/interpreter level language skills in one of Australia’s designated community languages you can earn another 5 points. However, these skills must be recognised by Australia’s National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI).

  1. Professional Year

If you have completed an approved Professional Year in Australia in the last 4 years and it has been in a nominated occupation or closely related occupation, you will be awarded another 5 points. A Professional Year is a structured program, which includes formal training with on-the-job experience.

  1. Spouse/partner skills and qualification

If your spouse/partner is included in the visa application, and is not an Australian resident/citizen, their skills can count towards the point total if they meet the Australian General Skilled Migration basic requirements for age, English language proficiency and nominated occupation. 5 points are awarded if your spouse/partner’s skills and qualifications meet the basic requirements.

  1. Nomination and sponsorship (Visa subclasses 190 and 489 only)

If you have been nominated by a state or tertiary government under a State Migration Plan for visa subclass 190 and subclass 489, you can receive a maximum of 10 extra points

If you are a South African moving to or living in Australia and would like to know more about how you can maximise your finances through financial emigration, accessing your South African retirement annuity and our tailor-made tax solutions for South Africans around the world, contact FinGlobal today.

Leave a Reply