Skip to main content

The World Rugby Series is truly one of Rugby Sevens

By November 23, 2018October 3rd, 2023Newsletter

The World Rugby Series is truly one of Rugby Sevens

November 23, 2018


The 2018-19 World Rugby Seven Series also known as the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series is in its 20th year of rugby sevens tournaments for national men’s rugby sevens teams. World Rugby has been running the Sevens Series since 1999-2000 and this series, for the second time, doubles up as a qualifier for the 2020 Summer Olympics, with the four top countries qualifying automatically.

A hotly contested rugby event

The World Rugby Sevens Series, with South Africa again defending the overall title, will be fought over 10 rounds. The first match kicks off in Dubai on 30 November 2018. It is expected that the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2019 will be hotly contested this year with the series acting as the main qualifying route for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

After opening in Dubai on 30-1 December, the teams move on to Cape Town Stadium for 8-9 December 2018 and then onto New Zealand in the new year on 26-27 January 2019.

The World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont commented on the excitement surrounding the series. He said, “As we enter an Olympic Game qualifying year, the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series promises to be highly competitive as both men’s and women’s teams look to secure their place via the world series at Tokyo 2020”

The world awaits…

Rugby Sevens has an estimated 30 million fans globally and record-breaking engagement figures, with the series capturing the imagination of the world. Core teams this year include Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, United States and Wales. The 2019 series also welcomes Japan’s men And China’s women as core teams after they won the Hong Kong qualifier in April 2018.

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2017-18 Dates:

  • Dubai, UAE: 30 November-1 December, 2018
  • Cape Town, South Africa: 8-9 December, 2018
  • Hamilton, New Zealand: 26-27 January, 2019
  • Sydney, Australia: 2-3 February, 2019
  • Las Vegas, USA: 1-3 March, 2019
  • Vancouver, Canada: 9-10 March, 2019
  • Hong Kong, Hong Kong: 5-7 April, 2019
  • Singapore, Singapore: 13-14 April, 2019
  • London, England: 25-26 May, 2019
  • Paris, France: 1-2 June, 2019

If you are a South African watching the 2018-19 World Rugby Seven Series while living abroad, and would like to know more about how you can maximise your finances through financial emigration, accessing your South African retirement annuity and our tailor-made tax solutions for South Africans around the world, contact FinGlobal today.