Skip to main content

Answered: Your more burning questions about ICC Cricket World Cup

By May 24, 2019October 5th, 2023Newsletter

Answered: Your more burning questions about ICC Cricket World Cup

May 24, 2019


This year’s ICC Cricket World Cup is the 12th edition of the Cricket World Cup and will be hosted by England and Wales, with the first match scheduled to be played at The Kennington Oval, London on 30 May and the final at Lords on the 15th of July. The tournament will consist of 10 teams, with each team playing each other once and the top four at the end of the group phase heading onto the semi-finals. South Africans all over the world are already excitedly anticipating the ICC Cricket World Cup as the first match is England versus South Africa! Read on to find out more about the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup and where to find a live cricket score.


This year’s qualifying teams in the ICC Cricket World Cup


The first ICC Cricket World Cup was held on 21 June 1975 at Lord’s when Australia and West Indies played in the final and the West Indies were crowned as the first cricket world champions, winning by 17 runs.



This year’s qualifying teams are England, South Africa, West Indies, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh and India. England qualified automatically because they are hosting the tournament and the other top seven teams (South Africa, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Australia, Bangladesh and India) qualified based on one-day internationals according to the latest ICC rankings 6 months prior to the tournament. The remaining two places were taken by Afghanistan and West Indies at a qualifying tournament that was held in March 2018.


South Africa’s Cricket World Cup match table

  1. South Africa vs England, 30 May, 11.30 (SAST), The Oval, London
  2. South Africa vs Bangladesh, 2 June, 11.30 (SAST), The Oval, London
  3. South Africa vs India , 5 June, 11.30 (SAST), Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
  4. South Africa vs West Indies, 10 June, 11.30 (SAST), Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
  5. South Africa vs Afghanistan, 15 June, 14.30 (SAST), Cardiff Wales Stadium
  6. South Africa vs New Zealand, 19 June, 11.30 (SAST), Edgbaston, Birmingham
  7. South Africa vs Pakistan, 23 June, 11.30 (SAST), Lords, London
  8. South Africa vs Sri Lanka, 28 June, 11.30 (SAST), The Riverside Durham
  9. South Africa vs Australia, 6 July, 14.30 (SAST), Old Trafford, Manchester

South Africans watching all over the world will no doubt be looking for similar memorable moments like the one that took place in 1992 when South Africa was playing Pakistan and Jonty Rhodes performed, what is arguably the most talked about fielding moment, when he ran out Inzaman ul-Haq by diving into the wickets.



Follow the Cricket World Cup matches live

You can follow the matches as they happen with live updates wherever you are in the world by following these official broadcasters.


If you want to watch the matches live in person you will need to register through the official ticketing site


The favourites to win the Cricket World Cup

As we all know, anything can happen in a tournament like this, but cricketer Ian Bell has named England, Pakistan and India as his potential favourites to win the World Cup. Australia was the winner of the last Cricket World Cup in 2015 when Australia beat their co-hosts New Zealand by 7 wickets.


If you are a South African following the ICC Cricket World Cup from abroad and would like to know more about how you can maximise your finances through the process of financial emigration from South Africa, accessing your South African retirement annuity and our tailor-made tax solutions for South Africans around the world, contact FinGlobal today.